Claes and Friends

Claes and Friends

Claes and Friends

Claes & Friends help you through your week on Thursday, April 11th, at 8 :00 p.m. If you have followed the blog, you’ll know that Claes Armoth is a popular performer at Mock Crest Tavern. In fact, he performs with several bands. I asked Claes if he could share some of his background and rich music history with us, and he said:

“I’m originally from Sweden, but I was raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, a great musical melting pot at that time. I started playing piano when I was a kid and picked up the harmonica when I was 14. I always loved music. I listened to top 40 radio from the time I was about five years old. In those days top 40 meant everything from Andy Williams “Moon River”, to Johnny Cash’s “I Walk the Line”, to The Sonics garage punk screamer “The Witch” as well as Soul from Stax and Motown. Later the emergence of “underground” FM rock radio, when I was 13 or 14, was a major influence on my musical sensibility. Blues was a part of this new programming, consequently I was exposed to such artists as Paul Butterfield, Charlie Musselwhite, BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson as well as British blues artists such as Savoy Brown, John Mayall and the original Fleetwood Mac. Around that same time, I had my head completely turned around by a trip to New Orleans, where I saw Punch Miller’s Bunch at Preservation Hall. These guys were literally the first generation of jazz musicians. They were all in their 70’s and had been playing jazz since the teens and twenties. The incredible energy, enthusiasm and sincerity of these old men’s performance changed my life forever. I have been back to New Orleans many times throughout my life.”

Thanks to Claes for sharing with us. Have a great week, and we’ll see ya there!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

