Employee Spotlight Laurie Brekken

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe have an employee “spot light” this month. Mock Crest Tavern is proud to “introduce” Laurie Brekken. Laurie has worked for Jon and Rainer for almost 11 years as the director of MCT.

I asked Laurie more about her job, why she loved working there, and what she enjoyed the most.

“My job title is “Director” and that means I do everything from unclogging toilets to training new staff. I even know how to repair most of the equipment we use! I really enjoy my job!  I DO enjoy getting paid to joke around with people and have fun when I am at work. I love to see customers enjoy the special food items I make, really really get “into” a band and basically having a great time. I really like the customers and co workers I have! (I guess the owners are pretty good too) Except for Jon! The other morning, he was blowing out the refrigeration units with an air compressor. I was bent over a sandwich board trying to write the daily special or something magical, and HE took the time to call over my co workers to watch HIM blow a blast of air on my derriere, and ME jump up in the air with a loud scream! Everyone laughed, including myself….but JON laughed so hard I thought he was going to wet himself! He even brought it up the next day and HE had another good laugh out of it!
Seriously, they are both great to work for, or I wouldn’t have “given them the best years of my life”!
Laurie also shared that her new hobby is learning Windows 8.
When you stop by, say hi and let her know you enjoyed learning more about her!
By the way, here’s the update for you poker players. Poker’s now available only on Monday nights at 7 p.m., but due to the holidays, no poker 12/24 or 12/31. It will resume in January.
See ya there!
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

