Free Poker And Great Food

Hummus Plate

On Sunday and Monday evenings Mock Crest Tavern offers free poker. A good game of poker is a great way to relax after a hectic Monday back at work. They also serve a fantastic menu, including this awesome Hummus plate offered Thursday through Sunday. Not only is this mouth-watering, but it’s a work of art.

While I visited, and enjoyed the beautiful Portland day in the seating outside, a basket of tater tots passed us on its way to the table next to me. My friend and I looked at each other, surely thinking the same thing. I”m not sure whose stomach rumbled the loudest. The smells from the kitchen also caught the breeze when the tavern door opened, and it took all my will power not to order a Philly cheese steak sandwich, but I wanted the breakfast too! However, since it was 5 p.m. I realized I’d have to visit between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. for the French Toast and biscuits and gravy.

For those of you that I’m making hungry, here’s the link for the menu http://www.mockcrest.com/Menu_pdf.html.

Here’s a  bit of information for you history buffs. John Mock, was a real estate developer, and contributed land for the University of Portland. He also built several homes, and one is a Portland landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It’s amazing the vision John had for Portland, and how it came to realization. You can see the rich history of the area and the tavern  as you drive through the streets. This is just one more reason I’m proud of being a part of it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

